| Inlet type | Type 2 for AC. No DC inlet |
|---|---|
| Max onboard AC | 7.2 kW |
| On a UK home supply | 7.2 kW, the full rate |
| Charge port position | Offside rear quarter, with the fuel filler on the opposite flank |
| Cable we recommend | Type 2 to Type 2, 32A single phase |
There is no rapid charging socket on this car
No part of this car accepts DC, so rapid charging is off the table entirely. Charging happens through the Type 2 socket or it does not happen, and that makes the cable the one accessory the car genuinely cannot manage without.
We can be confident because three separate sources say the same thing by omission: the German technical catalogue has no DC field and no DC figure for the CX-60, the Australian specification table carries an AC charging block and nothing else, and the Mazda UK price and specification guide lists only Mode 3 and Mode 2 AC rows in its charging section. None of them forgot; the socket is not there.
7.2 kW, and Mazda quotes it against a home charger
The onboard charger is 7.2 kW, and the useful thing is how Mazda UK presents it: twenty to eighty per cent in one hour thirty minutes on a home or public charger, and a full charge in about two hours twenty minutes. Britain has no domestic three phase supply, so a figure published against a home charger is by definition a single phase figure. You get all 7.2 kW.
The arithmetic checks out: 7.2 kW over two hours twenty minutes is 16.8 kWh, which is 94 per cent of the 17.8 kWh pack. Paying for more amps buys nothing here, since the car will not draw them. A 32A cable therefore carries everything the car takes and nothing larger is of any use.
One caveat worth stating. The German catalogue models this car as a two phase design, with 7.2 kW achieved across two phases and only 3.0 kW on one. That reflects a German 16 amp per phase wall box; a British 32 amp single phase point supplies 7.4 kW on one phase, which is what the Mazda UK figure describes. On a British driveway the 7.2 kW is real.
Battery and range, with one figure missing
The pack is 17.8 kWh at 355 volts and weighs 176 kilograms, giving 39.15 to 39.77 miles of equivalent all-electric range WLTP, or 68 kilometres on the city cycle. Combined with the 2.5 litre petrol engine that makes the CX-60 a genuinely low-emissions car on short journeys.
What Mazda does not publish is a usable capacity, and the German catalogue leaves its net field empty too. The charge time implies something around 16.2 kWh, but that is our arithmetic rather than a specification and we would not print it as one.
How long a full charge takes
| Cable | Power drawn at home | Empty to full, 17.8 kWh battery | Range added per hour |
|---|---|---|---|
| Type 2, 32A at 7.2 kW, the car maximum | 7.2 kW | 2 hours 45 mins | about 25 miles |
| Type 2, 16A at 3.6 kW | 3.6 kW | 5 hours 30 mins | about 13 miles |
| Type 2 to 3 Pin from a socket | 2.3 kW | 8 hours 45 mins | about 8 miles |
The calculation is the battery over the delivered kW, uplifted 13 per cent for charging losses, quarter hour rounded. Range added per hour assumes a year round 3.5 miles per kWh rather than a best case figure. Working from the 17.8 kWh gross figure, so real times run slightly shorter. Mazda own claim is about two hours twenty minutes.
Two and a half hours to fill the battery from empty means an evening, not a night, and with no DC socket to fall back on that convenience is what makes the car workable on electricity. Plug in when you get home and the next forty miles cost pennies.
Which length for a CX-60
The socket is on the offside rear quarter with the fuel filler on the other flank. Mazda does not state that in its own documents, so it rests on UK vehicle data records and on Mazda house style, which is consistent across the MX-30 and the CX-90 plug-in hybrid.
The CX-60 is 4.75 metres, so with a rear socket ten metres is the sensible default and five metres works where you reverse in beside the charge point. Take a tape measure to the run, inlet to charge point, and add a couple of metres before choosing.
How these cables are built
The cable meets IEC 62196-2, carries the CE mark, is sealed to IP55 and is specified from -30C to +50C.
The three pin version is an IEC 62752 unit, CE marked and IP67 sealed, specified -30C to +60C. The manufacturer warrants it for two years, delivery in the UK is free and next working day, and returns run to 30 days.
Related: Mazda MX-30 EV Charging Cable, and Mazda charging cables for every other model we cover. For a wall box or public post the lead is the Type 2 to Type 2 charging cable.
Mazda CX-60 PHEV charging cable questions
Can a Mazda CX-60 plug-in hybrid rapid charge?
No. There is no DC socket on the car at all, confirmed by three independent specification sources. The Type 2 cable is the only way to charge it.
How fast does it charge at home?
7.2 kW, and you get the full rate because Mazda publishes that figure against a home charger. A full charge takes about two hours twenty minutes.
Do I need a 32A cable?
Yes, to reach 7.2 kW. A 16A lead carries 3.6 kW and takes roughly twice as long.
Where is the charge socket?
Offside rear quarter, opposite the fuel filler. Mazda does not state it in its own documents but its other plug-in models are arranged the same way.
Cable specifications
| Connector type | Type 2 to Type 2 Charging Cable |
|---|---|
| Standard | IEC 62196-2 |
| Rated power | 16amp (3.6kW) |
| Supply | Single phase |
| Cable length | 10M |
| Weatherproofing | IP55 |
| Temperature range | −30°C to +50°C |
| Approval | CE marked |
| Warranty | 2 year manufacturer's warranty |
Specifications follow the option you have selected above. Charging always runs at the lowest limit of your car, the charge point and the cable.